Grand Trunk Western 4-8-4s

Any historical questions can be posted here. Answers would certainly help as well :)
SD80MAC
Ingersoll's Mr. Michigan

Grand Trunk Western 4-8-4s

Unread post by SD80MAC »

The following is another "Steam Sunday" segment I recently posted on my Michigan Railfans Facebook group. Once again, I'm not an expert, but the following is accurate to the best of my knowledge. Enjoy!

For the first Steam Sunday of 2021 (Happy New Year!), we’ll be taking a look at another group of my favorite steam locomotives that once called Michigan home: The Grand Trunk Western’s 4-8-4s. The 4-8-4 type has perhaps more regional nicknames than any other wheel arrangement, though the most common name is “Northern”, named after the Northern Pacfic Railroad who ordered the first 4-8-4s in 1926. While GTW’s 4-8-4s would be the largest locomotives on the GTW, they were small compared to other Northerns, and would earn the nickname “Pocket Northerns” because of their smaller size.